Social Networks

Back to website

Thursday, July 03, 2008

New Cell Phone Laws in California


I'm all for the Cell Phone Laws! I think it's about time. I'm a cell phone user and I DO use my phone while driving, only when necessary. But this law will make the roads safer for everyone. And it forces me and everyone else to really pay attention to driving.

The law went into effect on Monday, July 1st here in California and I'm happy to say that I haven't seen one person breaking that law! Both hands are on the wheel.

I have been shopping for a speaker phone from Bluetooth, but guess what? They are all sold out. My sister bought hers months ago, so she's all set and she showed me yesterday how easy they are to use. It's on my To Do List. But in the meantime, I won't be driving and dialing!

Here's some info:

Many states now have a ban on using a hand-held device while driving. These states include:

California (effective 7/2008)

Connecticutt

District of Columbia

New Jersey

Virgin Islands

Washington (effective 7/2008)
Parts of Illinois, Mass, Michigan, New Mexico, Ohio and Penn.

Violaters are fined between $20 and $500. While it is highly advised that you reduce distractions when driving, it is still possible to tak on a phone when really needed through a hands-free headset. There are two types of headsets that can be used while driving 1) wired 2) wireless (Bluetooth)


Primary - An officer can pull you over just for using a hand-held device while driving.


Secondary - An officer can ticket you for use of hand-held device while driving only if you are pulled over for another traffic violation.


Drive Safe, Be Happy!


1 comment:

Elder Abuse California said...

The tendency is really good. All countries in Europe have same laws, hope all states of America will join our state in banning the use of mobile phones with the hands while driving.
The fine should be much more i think. Then one could even have no ability to compare the price of a hands-free and a fine.